Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced
How does RDM auto-patch work in gMA2 onPC?
December 01, 2020 01:34PM
Hi all,

I am not really a light designer ( so I don't think I'll ever learn grandMA2 properly :) ); just need to use gMA2 for some debugging, and am currently using grandMA2 onPC 3.9.0.3 + gMA3 onPC 2Port Node 2k.

So, I start from an empty showfile; then click in onPC: Setup/Patch & Fixture Schedule; add a new layer (although gMA2 onPC mostly prompts me immediately to create one) - call it "test"; in the Fixture Wizard showing up next, I choose "2 Dimmer 00" (which I think is a built-in gMA2 virtual fixture); I keep Quantity at 1, and hit Apply at the Fixture Wizard, which then takes me to EditSetup window - and all this is simply to have gMA2 start DMX and RDM output (took me a while to figure out, that onPC does not send DMX/RDM, unless there is at least 1 fixture in Patch & Fixture Schedule).

Then, I have a single fixture connected to the Node, and it gets discovered by RDM soon after.

So, back to the EditSetup Window, I click on RDM Devices button at the bottom - and I click on the discovered fixture, click Auto-Patch - and gMA2 onPC responds with: "Warning - No RDM Fixture selected." (see attached gma2_RDM_Auto_Patch.gif).

This warning message confuses me - because I had clearly clicked on the RDM Fixture (note bright blue background of the RDM UID field on screenshot), which I consider to be "selecting" the RDM Fixture - and yet, I get "No RDM Fixture selected."?! And unfortunately, seemingly no-one on the Internet ever typed the sentence "No RDM Fixture selected.", so I cannot really read up on it.